Flashback

…to the days when I was running 5-6 days a week and I was constantly beat up and tired.

That’s what it felt like Thursday and today after track practices started up again.  The “easy” workout to get us back into the swing of it… damn near killed me.  Now… far be it from me, of course, to TAKE it “easy” on this first practice.  Oh no… that would be smart.  I chose to beat myself to death running faster than a ever have.

My legs…?  They are NOT happy…

Oh… It’s a “good” sore… if there is such a thing.  The Thursday morning run sucked.  My butt hurt so bad I wanted to quit.  And it felt like my muscles never warmed up.  Even though it was almost 50 degrees outside (at 5:30am) I felt stiff and cold the whole way.

This morning in the pool I felt stiff and sore still.  I swam OK but felt like I was on the verge of cramping the whole set.  My kick drills were NOT fun.

See, this sucks… Now.  But when I was training for a marathon I felt like this pretty much all the time.  I thought it was normal.

Now if I run three days in a row, I’m miserable.  But I “feel” better and stronger than I did when I was training one sport 5-6 days a week and I’m training MORE.  Now I train six days a week and at least two days a week I do a double.

I know that as I push the boundaries of my new sport(s) that I will someday once again achieve that dead tired, constantly sore feeling.  But for now I am waiting for the novelty of this painful practice to wear off.  I don’t like the feeling and it’s getting in the way of my other training…!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

