Ending the “beginner” phase

Whenever you start a new sport, unless it is very similar to another one you already know, improvement comes in fits and starts.  Especially when you are new to a sport, the only way to get the muscle memory to improve steadily is to work through those early days and train steadily.  Many sports tease you with major improvements in the beginning and then plateau you for a while.  But the cure for plateaus is the same as basic improvement.  Consistency and persistence.  Stay the course and practice.

It had been a long time since I could say I started a totally new sport.  The last one I could think of was roller hockey.  So when I jumped in the pool for the first time EVER to do anything other than splash around, it was daunting.  I knew that I would suck.  And the only way to decrease the suckage was to just stay at it.  Now, after 3 months of swimming consistently 3 days a week and taking a couple of lessons, I think I am finally over the “beginner’s hump” and am seeing some significant improvements.

My form is not as bad as I thought.  My technique is not Michael Phelps, but it’s also not drowning cat either.  But by keeping a plan in mind and trying to work on something specific EVERY LAP, I have to say that I am pleased with my performance.  I feel strong in the water now and while I can’t say I glide through the water effortlessly yet, I can sense the difference.  I also no longer feel completely exhausted, but rather invigorated (albeit tired) after my swims.  I want to do more.  Today I almost added a couple hundred yards to my workout because I felt like I could do more.  I only resisted because it is not a part of my plan at this point.  That is a good feeling to have.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

