Sometimes getting lost is a good thing.

I’ve been at a conference (making presentations to teachers) for the last 3 days.  I am really going to have to be disciplined with my eating at these stupid conferences or I am going to have to move up into the clydesdale (over 200 lb) category for my upcoming races…!  I am also going to have to try to squeeze in as much swim time as possible on my brief stays at home over the next month and try to focus on running and (stationary) bike at the plethora of hotels I am going to be frequenting… *sigh*

The “resort” (using the term loosely… this place is NASTY) I stayed at does have one advantage in that it sits right on a huge lake and is LOADED with hills.  There is a marked 5k route (was…  they re-surfaced the road and many of the markers are gone…) from an old 5k that is not done anymore.  I can see why.  It’s got 3 BRUTAL hillsin it, plus a lot of smaller ones.  Three big ups and, since it is an out and back, the subsequent downs coming back in make this one difficult to get that PR you might be going after…!  But it does make for a great training run.

Unless you miss a turn and get lost…

The course winds through the resort, which is a large property full of twisty, hilly roads that all look the same, especially when it’s almost dark (and you are not paying attention…).  I ran well out to the 5k turn and then kept going down the road because I had discovered that I could get another big hill and take me up to about 4 miles.  Plenty for this course.  Then I missed the left turn to Albuquerque and ended up running almost 6 miles, 8 BIG, STEEP hills (yes, I counted… I was trying to stay occupied).  I knew I was in no danger of being lost forever and the resort roads are well lit so I just decided to keep running until I found a familiar road.  By the time I got back it was dark and everyone was coming out of the evening buffet.  They all looked at me like I was nuts.  I dunno why.  One teacher that had been in one of my sessions saw me and asked how the run was and if it was flat…

umm… no.  It was anti-flat…  Think running up some of the hills on your tip toes because that’s all you can do.  Then turn around and run back down…  for an hour… it was awesome!

…I’m must be sick…

Oh… and for you weatherbugs?  It was 52 degrees and I ran in shorts.  Three hours later it was 22 degrees and snowing…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

