Getting the plan going

The first meeting of the Triathlon Noob group went well.  I discovered that even though I am a poor swimmer by most standards, I’m a little faster than I thought.  Got some good drills and basic information so I am really going to try to work these things this week.

My first workout on their plan also went well.  It was a total of 1700 yards, which is much further than I have gone int he past (my first mile in the water… WOOT!!) and I think these drills are going to help me target some weaknesses.  I’m doing one arm drills, no arm drills, a drill called catch up (glide out and complete one full stroke with one arm before starting the other arm) as well as some hundreds at a moderate pace.  I am also, at this point, really focusing on my head turn/rotation and trying not to lift my head out of the water.  I don’t do it much but the less I do it the better.

Our plan calls for a good mix of the three sports, but will focus on swimming for the next month.  There will be lots of stationary bike time for now, just learning how to spin the pedals.  The run, at this point, is pretty much business as usual.  This is fine with me as I really don’t want to stop running.  Coach said just continue as normal for now which pleases me.  Now I just have to find time to do all the other stuff.  She wants us to add some strength training in so I’m back to looking for those 2-3 extra hours a day to get it all in.  I will let you know if I find some!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

