Nice one!

MAN!  I love it when a run feels good.  Not that they all don’t…  It’s just that some of them take a little time to convince yourself of and others feel good WHILE you are doing them.  These are rare for me so I dig them even more when I get one.

This one was just over 6 miles and I felt good from the first step.  I kept waiting for my breathing to become more labored or my legs to get heavy, but it didn’t happen.  I just felt like I was running faster and faster with each step.  Even when we hit the inevitable hills the dot all of our routes but one, I felt strong going up and didn’t falter at the top.  I averaged just over an 8 minute mile but the first two were at about 8:30 for warmup so I am relatively certain the other four were well under 8 minute pace and I felt faster at the end than I did to start.  I hung with the lead pack until we hit the first big hill at about mile 3, but even then I didn’t get dropped, I just faded a bit and was able to catch back up at the top.

I thought for sure that because I had done sprint work on Saturday and my glutes and hammies were sore that I wouldn’t be running very fast, but it really felt effortless.  Love that!

On the opposite side of the effort scale, I swam this morning and as always, it was an effort.  I got in 1200 yards and, admittedly, it IS getting a bit easier.  At least now I have my “Help! I’m drowning!” swim stroke under control enough that I can actually start to think about things like body position, and proper breathing technique a bit more.  I know my (lack of) technique would make any swim coach groan but I’m starting swim lessons as a part of a triathlon training program so at least I can get some pointers… when they get done laughing at me…

I’m going to Springfield, MO today to teach a class tomorrow and I’m hoping the weather will cooperate enough that I can get a run in this afternoon.  There are some great trails in Springfield and I never pass up the opportunity to take advantage of them if I can.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

