Time to jump in… for real…

Ai Ueda of Japan ...
Image by Getty Images via Daylife

The morning swim went better than expected.  I felt stronger than I thought I would and had I not just run out of time because I got there a bit late, I would more than likely have done a full mile today.  Maybe Wednesday…

Instead I focused on drills today.  Alternate breathing, fists, sprints, full exhale, etc.  I even did a little kickboarding.  I think for the next few weeks I want to focus on speed, technique and strength for two of the three swim workouts I do per week.  I know eventually I will be working on all of it at the same time, but not now.  The final workout of the week will focus on endurance.

This could all change next weekend when I start the newbie program for first time triathletes.  Yesterday they said that they were going to give us customized workout programs to follow.  I’m afraid this may mean the end of my coveted group runs.  Hopefully I can find some people in the newbie group to run with.  It should also be interesting to see what they do with swimming…

I must admit that I am a little uncomfortable to be “starting” a training program this close to the event.  I guess I am just used to training for 4-6 months before I do a goal event.  Two and a half months just seems short.  I will go with it though and see how it works out.  Time to dive in for real!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

