Fast… and slow…

It’s not often that I set out with the intention of running alone.  In fact lately I have craved the comfort of the group for motivation, even though I rarely even say anything during a run.  But Saturday the group was really getting into it’s marathon training.  Most of the people I run with on Saturday are going to Boston so they are running in the 14-18 mile range right about now.  This is gleefully out of my league.

I decided to meet up with them and start my run with them, but I have my own training to do now so when they went right, I kept going straight and ran about a mile and a half up to the track.  We are supposed to start track workouts up again at the end of the month and I would rather work out the soreness now.  So I ran 4 X 400 and 4 X 200, just to get me back into the swing.  My results were very encouraging!

I was able to run negative splits for both sets, with my first 400 at 1:35 and my last one at 1:25.  Not earth shattering, but faster than my fastest times last fall!  The 200 results were the same!

Lessee…  Decrease mileage…  Decrease intensity…  Increase speed…?  Weird.

Whatever.  I’ll take it.

My meeting this afternoon with the people I am thinking about joining for a “First Time Triathlon” group yielded mixed results.  While I think it’s a good idea and I’m going to do it because I will get some swim and bike lessons, it pretty much convinced me that I will be the last one out of the water come race day.  I guess the good news is that I will get to pass a lot of people on the run and bike.  The swim may be my undoing yet.  I thought I was about average on speed but I found out today that I am actually REEEEEALLLY slow.  All the more reason to hit the pool tomorrow morning…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

