Defense against the dark side (pain)

Spent a lot of time thinking on the run this morning about everything but running.  I wouldn’t call this a quality run because I was pretty much on auto pilot the whole way.  I averaged about an 8:20 mile and I was spent when I got done so I would say I gave good effort, but I wasn’t exactly focused.

A lot of it has to do with my defense against pain.  I seem to have pinched a nerve in my back and it hurt like hell for about the first 2 miles.  Marathon running taught me to run through pain by not focusing on it.  That became pretty automatic for me through the little nagging stuff that happens during the run up to a marathon.  Unless it is in danger of rupturing or falling off, you kinda have to just ignore it or you will never run.  So my auto pilot kicked on and I spent the entire run thinking about swim times, wetsuits, aero bars, spin classes, brownies (yes, brownies… the kind you bake…), camping, floor polish and so on.  Somebody asked me how my run was and I said “What run?”

A pearl scale goldfish from The 6th "Pramong N...

Image via Wikipedia

I know this is not the way to “train”.  It might even be a bad habit I have developed over the last year since I have not been “training”, just desperately trying to maintain.  I may need to start setting goals for each run (hills, fartleks, form, etc.) so that I add more quality back into each run.  Especially now that there are going to be fewer of them so that I can accommodate the other disciplines in triathlon.  In short… I need to focus!  Since I have the attention span of a goldfish… this might be a challenge.

…what were we talking about…?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

