Got the distance

White Lake Half Ironman Triathlon Swim Start 039

Image by cygnus921 via Flickr

OK… Now I feel better.  It’s 8 months before club nationals and I was able to swim the entire distance for that race (plus a little) this morning.  The distance for the race is 750 meters and I swam 800.  I know this doesn’t seem like much, especially to you swimmer types that swim miles at a workout.  But I am a non-swimmer.  Up until 2 months ago I thought I would never do a triathlon because it INVOLVED swimming.  Much less be able to make any kind of distance.  But this little confidence boost has really helped me.  It’s one less thing I have to worry about.  Now I can focus on getting stronger/faster, doing more drills, working in open water and some of the other swim stresses (like wetsuits).

The other cool thing about this swim is even though I know it wasn’t fast, in fact it was really slow… I felt like I could have kept going for at least another couple hundred yards.  And when I was done I was able, after a break, to swim another 200 without much effort and even sprint the last 25.

One of the guys I swim with has been swimming for over 40 years and was on his college swim team back in the day.  He has been encouraging me and giving suggestions, the best of which is that swimming is very much a plateau sport.  You hit a certain level, whether it’s speed or distance, and you get stuck there for a while.  The only way to fix it is to try different drills or strokes and keep coming to the pool.  Now he swims about 2500 yards in the same amount of time it takes me to swim 1200 (he’s 68…).  He’s my new hero.  Thanks Pete…!

BTW… I had a dream that looked like this picture… That’s why it’s in here.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Responses to Got the distance

  1. Rufor says:

    Hi, Owner.
    Can I use a photo from your blog?
    Of course, i will place a link to source.
    Thanks.
    Yours Rufor

  2. dabigleap says:

    The vast majority of the photos on my blog are found through Zemanta (WordPress Widget) and are licensed through creative commons or are otherwise copyright free. Most have the credit listed below the pic.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

