Time to hit the wedge

(Note about the title: A “Wedge” or “Wedgie” is a derogatory term used by the recumbent riding community to describe road bikes.  It is a reference to the wedgie you get from sitting on a road bike seat as compared to the comfy seats on most recumbents)

After feeling just a little bit off last week for no apparent reason, yesterday was actually a relatively decent run for me.  Six miles at an average pace of about 8 minutes.  It would have been sub 8’s but for running on the trail which was the only place in town that still had snow on it.  It definitely slowed me down.  But with temps yesterday in the 50s and today in the mid 40s, I look for most of that to be gone and there is no mention of snow for at least the next 10 days.

Bicycle in Plymouth, England at the start of t...
Image via Wikipedia

Now that I’m relatively certain I at least won’t drown in the pool and can swim the distance required for my first triathlon, my thoughts are starting to turn to the middle event, cycling.  I have not been on my bicycle once since I committed to triathlon, since the weather hasn’t been conducive to it and I don’t have foul weather gear yet.  All of my (limited) bike miles have been on a stationary.  I think it’s time to start putting in some bike miles.  I have given in to the fact that I will probably have to give up a run and eventually a swim day unless I want to double up on a couple of days (which I think I might do).  I am comfortable on the bike and spent many hours riding through the hills of southern California on my mountain bike so I have pretty good bike skills.  I just need to re-teach my body how to “spin” the pedals at higher RPM, rather than the power stomping required by mountain biking.  I need to make a few modifications to my bike as well.  Adding aero bars will help a little and I need to switch out the pedals I have for a more road style.  Other than that (and taking off the extra brake handles) and putting slick tires on it, I am going to try to ride this first season on my Kona Jake cyclocross bike.  If the bike and I survive this first season and I still like triathlon, I may look at getting a tri-bike or at least a road bike next year.  At this point though it would be silly of me to get a road bike.  I have always liked mountain biking more, would still rather run than ride and I may come out the other end of the pool on that first race and just walk away from the whole triathlon thing.  Why spend loads of cash (which I don’t have anyway)?  It’s costing me enough as it is just in entry fees, basic required gear and gym memberships.

Triathlon is many things but cheap is never a word I would use to describe it…!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

