Temptation

Alright…  This is a test.  How strong am I…

Background:

December 31 of this year I committed to doing something that I have known for a long time I needed to do if I am ever going to REALLY lose weight and get in shape.  I said goodbye to a beloved old friend…

Alcohol.

Most notably… beer.

See, I have never been a hard liquor drinker.  I like a good glass of wine and could probably really get into wine drinking with little effort.  But I LOVE beer.  I drank it more for the taste and the pleasure than the buzz.  I rarely, if ever drank to excess (a few notable exceptions admitted).  I tried all types from all over the world.  I made my own VERY tasty varieties for years.

However, I am acutely aware that beer is bad for me.  This is multiplied exponentially by the fact that I have the metabolism of a three-toed sloth.  I can just THINK about drinking a couple of beers and my pants get tighter.

So the writing was on the wall.  One of the last great stumbling blocks to true fitness needed to be removed.  My last beer, hopefully ever, was a glass of my favorite, Guinness.

I also, after reading some compelling research, gave up ALL sodas, including diet.  It seems even diet sodas can compound and confound your body’s efforts to convert fat to fuel and I need all the help I can get so it had to go too.

You will, however, pry my morning cup of coffee from MY COLD, DEAD, HANDS… ’nuff said…

I have also, for quite some time actually, not eaten at a fast food restaurant.  Given my current position and the amount of travel I have to do,  this ain’t easy either..

Situation:

I am staying tonight in one of my favorite hotels.  Comfy beds, reliable in room wi-fi, and the source of my temptation.  From 5:30 to 7:00pm each evening they provide a hosted bar where you can get 3 free drinks, lots of junk food, etc.  This particular hotel is also sandwiched between two fast food restaurants (no pun intended).  I am bored, alone and, even though the beer et al. have been removed from my diet, the cravings are still definitely there.  I almost cried the other day while walking unintentionally through the beer aisle at the grocery store.

If you were to ask me what part of the triathlon was hardest, I would definitely say eating right.  This has always been my Achilles heel and will probably continue to be so for the rest of my life.  Which is why I have to get it under control.

Solution:

I don’t know if there will ever be one.  I will fight this battle forever.  Tonight, however, I purposefully walked through the snacks area, leered at the beer tap and then walked back down the hall to the exercise room.  I stared in the window for a long while, contemplating my choices.  When I am done with this post, I will go downstairs, ride for an hour on the stationary bike and then get in the hot tub.

This is my life now.  These are my choices…

…Saturday marks one month since I started all this.  I have lost four pounds…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

