The return of Captain Whineypants

Well that sucked.  Two completely uninspiring workouts in two days.  How irritating is that?

I had to travel for work this week so after my Monday swim and Tuesday morning run I wasn’t sure what the rest of the week would bring.  But I am determined to get through this 2 month stretch with my fitness intact, even if I have to piss people off and not do stuff with them at conferences.  This is more important to me.  The promise of warmer weather had me thinking about a run outside but I just didn’t have time so I had to default back to the mini gym at the hotel.  Here I learned a couple of things.

First, treadmills well and truly SUCK.  I am convinced that I would rather run IN a tornado than run on a treadmill again.  I just can’t put in more than 2 or 3 miles before my mind goes completely numb and I begin to drool.  I usually don’t hit the drool stage outside until at least mile 12 outside…

The other thing that I discovered is that I am REALLY getting tired of getting hives after a workout.  This itchy, painful condition seems to be becoming more common with me and I really have no idea why.  I am going to try to be more consistent about taking my allergy medication to see if having at least a little of it on board at all times will make the difference.  Whatever it is, I’m getting sick of it.

So then I get home last night, tired from a 4 hour drive, get rotten sleep and head to the pool this morning where I discover that, even though I only missed one swim workout, my endurance is back down to ZERO and I can only swim about 200 yards at a time without my form completely disintegrating and my feet dragging on the bottom.  I managed to slog out 1000 yards before I finally just gave up and declared an end to the carnage.  Maybe Sunday will be better.

Hopefully I can shake these workouts off and have a decent long run tomorrow.  Too bad the good weather is going away.  It was sixty yesterday but is only going to get up to 40 this morning before the temps fall back into the low thirties this afternoon and drop down to the low teens tonight.  Should be about 12 degrees tomorrow morning.  You would think it was still winter…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

