Dedication and persistence

These two words are the ones that I would choose to describe my last two workouts (my wife may rightfully argue for “Crazy” on the former…!).

Tuesday morning I ran a mundane 5 miler.  A couple of hills… dark…  The usual.  What made it a “dedication” run was that the temperature was 14 degrees and the wind was blowing at about 20-30.  This made the windchill about -5.  Now, see…  If the “temperature” was -5, but there was no wind, that would be one thing.  But having a WIND strong enough to drive the temperature down that low is COMPLETELY different.  I was cold for the rest of the day.  My FACE is chapped… Not lips… FACE.  And believe it or not there were 20ish other idiots out there with me.  I had not intended on this being a run to display my “dedication”, I just didn’t pay attention to the weather.  My bad…

But here is the real challenge.  A cold front is supposed to move through tonight and it is supposed to drop (yes, he said DROP) the temperatures even more.  Such that if/when I get to the trailhead tomorrow morning the temperature is supposed to be about -4 WITH 20 mile an hour winds (windchill around -15).  I think I need therapy for even considering this run BUT I’m wondering if I have enough clothes to add another layer…  hmm…

On the persistence side, as much as I have been telling myself that I will never get any better in the pool, I achieved a magic distance today.  My first swim distance is a mere 440 yards, but I have only gotten within 100 yards of that distance once in the month or so I have been swimming.  Today, however, I went 500 yards!  And felt like I could easily go at least another hundred.  This is not a huge landmark physically.  I knew that if I kept swimming I would eventually get better.  But it’s a big psychological boost.  I’m such a weak swimmer that I need any confidence boost I can get.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

