I’ll keep telling myself that.

(YEAR IN FOCUS ...
Image by Getty Images via Daylife

It is with great sadness that I must report my own surrender.  Due to my decision to succumb to the dark and evil void that is triathlon, I must surrender my dearly beloved running days.  I am no longer able to continue my 4-5 day per week running schedule and must instead slosh through the pool like a dying whale and/or enase myself in brightly colored spandex and frighten small children as I ride by on my bike.  It is both a curse and a gift.

The curse is that running is what got me here.  So I kind of feel like I’m losing something if I don’t run.  Like if I don’t run I will be out of shape.  Yes, I know that swimming and biking are both great exercise as well, but still…  The gift is to my legs.  Obviously, the beating I gave my body in training for a marathon didn’t fare as well for me as I had hoped it would and my body rebelled by… well… breaking.  So taking the pressure off while still exercising is a good thing.  Especially with lower impact exercises like swimming and biking.

This is good.  I’ll keep telling myself that.

Speaking of swimming, I put in 800 yards at the pool this morning.  The good news is that the fatigue in my arms is less than it was.  The bad news is I still can’t go more than a few hundred yards at a time.  I’m not sure at this point if this is physical or psychological.  Either way I just need to work through it.  I need to take my time and be patient.  I think my speed/strength is improving.  I can now swim 25 yards at a sprint in about 18 seconds.  Not world class, but faster than the 26 seconds it took me the first time I timed myself.

There is a first time triathlon group that is going to start training through a local running shop in February.  Even though there is a cost involved, I may do it anyway.  It includes swim lessons from two Ironman triathletes, organized rides and runs, bike tips and transition practice.  That about covers it!  I really think this is something I should do.  I know my swim form is bad but I don’t even know what about it is bad.  The lessons alone are worth the price.  The extra group workout days will be useful as well.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

