Icebeard

OK… so I’m in decent shape, but maybe not as good as I thought.

I was TIRED this morning.  My legs felt heavy and sluggish.  I only swam 1000 yards last night but I could definitely feel it.  I was breathing hard early into the run and had to back off for a mile or so to recover.  I finished OK but was still 15 seconds a mile slower than my Tuesday run at the same distance.  And now?  I’m pooped… And starving!  Counting the minutes to lunch.

Did I mention it was COLD this morning?  About 15 at the start of the run.  With just enough wind to piss me off.  By the time I got done I was Icebeard the Pirate.  My goatee was frosty…!  I guess from the condensation of my huffing and puffing.  I was going to put on my balaclava but I decided not to.  I think it would have been wise.  My face HURT from the cold and didn’t warm up for an hour after I got done!  And, no, I’m not complaining… I’m just sayin’.

Each morning we run, part of the routine is to announce the route and then welcome new people to the group.  It really surprises me that we continue to see new people (there were 4 this morning) even on the coldest, darkest days of the year.  It is also interesting to hear from those “returning” after a long layoff (there were 8 of them today) and to find out what they are doing.  One woman (who dropped me like a rock around mile 4) turned out to be one of the better female triathletes in the club, but she had been off for several months due to a variety of factors.  It was good (selfishly) to hear her lament about being out of shape and the difficulty she was having getting back in the pool.  I’m finding “pool dread” to be as common to triathletes as the “dreadmill” is to runners.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

