Something to sink (..err… THINK) about…

I keep wondering if that day that I swam 300 yards without stopping was an accident.  I just can’t seem to get back up there again.  Today it felt like my legs were made of anchors.  The pool is only 4 feet deep and at least once I felt my feet hit the bottom.  I know this means I’m lifting my head when I swim so I really worked on that for the rest of the session.

I really want to relax in the water but I’m still tense.  I don’t panic as much as I used to, but I still hold my breath too much if everything doesn’t feel right.  I’m also forcing myself to breathe on both sides.  I do at least 2 laps of 1,3,5 drills and then grab a kickboard and do breathing practice to my left.  I’m not sure why it’s harder to breathe that way, but I really feel like I want to lift my head.  I might not be rotating enough.  It’s still all so new…

I guess the only thing I still don’t like, so far, about triathlon training is giving up my runs.  I know I’ve said it before, but I really enjoy my running  so I still find myself trying to figure out ways to continue my running habit and wiggle it in along with all the other stuff.  Not having much luck yet unless I work out 7 days a week…  hmmm…

One Response to Something to sink (..err… THINK) about…

  1. Bob Allen says:

    I hope you’ll figure out how to relax while swimming.

    I wasn’t sure what I’d find when I opened your blog. From the title, I thought you might reference this Berlitz language advertisement: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rD4roXEY8hk

    (Disclaimer: It’s not my intent to offend anyone by referencing this video. I do find it funny but I would also laugh at videos that poked fun at my attempts to speak Swahili or Kikuyu or, for that matter, French or German or Norwegian or … well, you get the idea.)

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

