Unplanned swim

I have a little friend who did her first triathlon a year or so ago.  She is fearless, trying triathlons, playing football and even getting her black belt.  She is 11 and last week at a family party she asked me if I would be her “coach” for the upcoming triathlon season.  I snorted something about actually needing to DO a triathlon first so I had a clue what it was all about, but she persisted so I agreed to give her some beginner tips on swimming, since I am a beginner too.  She didn’t seem overly enthused so I didn’t think much of it, but then she called me last night and asked when her first lesson was.  So we set something up for this afternoon.

I wasn’t sure what she wanted so I just asked her when I got there.  She said she had a tough time with the whole breathing thing so I showed her some basic drills and then watched her do them.  It was then I discovered why people use swim caps and goggles.  It was no wonder she had difficulty breathing.  Every time she turned her head she got mouthfuls and eyefuls of hair!  I’m so nearly bald it had just never occured to me.  I showed her a few more things about proper stroke and then decided to swim a few laps with her.  About 500 yards later I realized that this wasn’t my scheduled workout but I had just gone about as far.  Tomorrow morning should be interesting!  It was fun though.  We may even make it an every Sunday thing for a while.  Goodness knows the extra day of swimming won’t hurt me…!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

