Goal setting season

Distance: 7.2 mi

I would be lying if I said that I didn’t feel just a little bit guilty for turning early this morning and watching everybody else keep going on the 10 mile, out and back run that is our usual Saturday habit.  As a part of my goals (more on that in a bit) I am cutting back my mileage and increasing my intensity.  But everyone else is gearing up for spring marathons so they are already starting to stretch the miles out a bit.  Case in point, most ran 10 this morning, but some ran 3 before we got there and some went up to 5 more after we left.  I felt like a weenie for only running 7.  But I can’t get sucked into the mileage vacuum.  That is not my goal, at least for a while.  So I will let them go for now and just enjoy my “short” 7 miler!

I love the excitement in the fitness community around this time of year.  And I am not talking about the gym set of “talkers” who join a gym as a part of a resolution and then bonk after a month and never come back.  I’m talking about the true, dedicated fitness buffs who get fired up in the dead of winter while everyone else is snuggled down under the covers and begin to craft their evil plan for marathon domination, et al. for the year.

So far, in the group of 10-15 people I hang with, we have set the following goals:

Six are running the Boston Marathon

Several are running the Little Rock Marathon

One is doing a river paddling race this summer from Kansas City to St. Louis!!

I am doing my first triathlon, duathlon and will probably add 2 more this summer before the Club Nationals at the Redman in OKC in September.  I also want to get below 22 for the 5K and swim a mile without stopping.

Two are running their first marathons

One wants to run her first IRONMAN distance this year.

This is just what I am aware of so far.  I am sure there are more that I am missing.  I have heard rumors from others about the Leadville 100, a 72 hour race, RAAM and many more.  This group is amazing.  I’ll bet their isn’t one major race of any kind in the US that someone in our club hasn’t done.

The cool part about all this goal setting, besides it’s very inspirational for me, is that I know that, barring injury, these people WILL get there.  They walk the walk.  I learn tons from just listening to them.  It’s only the first week of January, but I’m already fired up about this year…!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

