No muscle memory yet

After taking last week off at the pool to go on vacation, I went back today at 5:45 to try to force myself back into a training schedule.  Just the fact that I’m saying “training schedule” instead of “routine” is exciting for me.  It means I’m training with a purpose again…  Woohoo!!!

Even though I only took a week off, my body is still not in tune with the whole swimming as exercise thingy yet.  So getting back in the pool this morning was like starting all over.  I was only able to slog out about 600 yards before my arms became too fatigued to do anything else.  I forgot how to breathe, kick, stroke… everything.  It was sad.  I thought the lifeguards were going to come get me a couple of times when I came up coughing and sputtering.  *sigh*…  The only good thing that came out of it was that I was there at 5:45am (when I really wanted to stay in bed!!) and putting in the time.

Since I am off this week it will be easy to get back in the groove.  I am running my first, last and only race of 2008 on the last day of the year.  It’s an afternoon 5k (4pm start) to kick off a big downtown New Years celebration called First Night.  That’s right, my first race of 2008 is on the last day of 2008…

Otherwise, I am still looking for a good training program for triathlon, I like the book I got but I don’t care for the training plans.  Too vague and geared toward higher mileages.  I need a beginner plan that I can modify.  I’ll keep digging though.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

