That… as they say… is that.

Distance: 7 mi

Miles to go: 1198

Welp…  There’s 800 miles.  Wish there was a 1 in front of it, but I’ll take what I can get.  My Christmas gift to me.

What an odd day…  All kinds of surreal things going on.  First, it was 66 degrees when I started my run.  I got to the run absolutely certain I had forgotten something.  How could it be that all I had on was shorts and a tech shirt, my shoes and a watch… in December?  Where was my jacket?  Why wasn’t it snowing?  Where was the ice…?  My tights?  Balaclava?  WTF???

The weather felt like early April.  Warm, windy, humid and with the very real threat of severe weather on the way.  The route was 10 miles but I only wanted seven of it so I turned early.  As we took off we immediately ran into one of the faster runners around, but he was running very slow.  I thought he might be hurt but he said that he was actually running a 3 hour run today in preparation for a 50 miler coming up soon.  He basically ran with us until we turned, kept going, then I saw him with some other runners I know later and then saw him one more time running by himself downtown, obviously looking for someone else to run with.  His last hour would be hell, though…

Then the tornado sirens went off…  For REAL.

Then the sirens went off again later for REAL only this time it was for a flood.  An inch of rain in 45 minutes will do that.

It was 66 when we started… it’s 40 now.  It’s supposed to drop into the 30s and snow this afternoon… after a couple of inches of rain and a tornado warning…

Did I miss a memo?  Something about the end of the world…?

I’m just glad I got my run in BEFORE the world ended… that would have sucked if I didn’t…  Guilt for all eternity.

Did I mention that it was 66 in mid Missouri at the end of December and there was a tornado warning, flash flood warning, 40 mile an hour winds, a 36 degree temperature drop, and winter storm watch all at the same time?

Happy 800 miles!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

