Crampons and Anchor Arms

It’s 20 degrees, the wind is blowing 20-30mph (WCF -5) and it’s spitting snow.  I should be finishing up my morning run, but I’m blogging instead because I wussed out and didn’t go.  We leave in a couple of hours for Oklahoma to go see family for the holidays and I know it will be warmer there tomorrow so I’ll just wait and run down there.

Rigid crampons used for vertical ice climbing

Image via Wikipedia

Maybe my experience on Saturday jaded me a little bit (one shouldn’t need the runner’s equivalent of crampons just to get a run in…), but until I get properly geared up (real winter running gear, Yak Traks, etc.), I’m just not crazy enough to risk it.  I’m sure it’s fine and I will hear how wonderful the run was when I get back.  Good for them.  My run in OK will be wonderful too, but it will be warmer and safer.

161150I swam yesterday and finally made it to 1000 yards total in a workout.  I also managed 300 yards without stopping.  I probably could have gone the extra hundred to get myself to that magical 400 yard goal (the triathlon distance), but my weenie arms got really pumped up and fatigued.  Think Spongebob’s inflatable “Anchor Arms” from the Musclebob Buffpants episode (yes, I’m a closet Spongebob fan… Don’t tell my kids).  I could barely lift them to rest on the side of the pool.  It went away and I was able to keep going, but I guess I have never really done ANY endurance exercise with my upper body so I’m just not used to the repetition.

Anyway, happy holidays everybody!  I may have time to blog while in Oklahoma and will definitely be taking my laptop, but if not, I will catch you up when I get back on the 26th!  Hope Santa brings you everything on your list!

…You DO believe in Santa… right?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

