Glub, glub… bleh..

I knew this morning that it probably wasn’t a good idea to go to the pool and swim but I did it anyway.  I’m pretty certain I’m catching the family cold and as such, my throat is scratchy and my nose is stuffy.  Not necessarily the best internal conditions to stick your face in the water and try to control your breathing with.  In another sure sign I’m not feeling well, I felt kind of weak and got pumped up pretty fast when I got in the water.  I had a hard time concentrating and finally gave up after about 400 yards of coughing and sputtering.

I tried several things this morning though.  I did 100 yds with the kickboard, 75 on my stomach and 25 on my back.  Just using my legs seems soooo slow!  Remember, this is all new to me.  It’s either normal or I just have a really poor kick.  Regardless, it got my legs pumped up.  I also watched several tutorial videos on YouTube about swim stroke, breathing and different drills to try.  I also picked up a tip or two about breathing and, when I did it right, it was better.  That is, when my nose let me breath right…!

I learned some good breathing drills, both for open water and in general, but right now I have a pinched nerve in my back that makes it painful to roll and breathe to my left.  I end up pulling my head up out of the water instead because it hurts.  Since I don’t want to develop bad habits, I’m just breathing to the right for now and trying to get comfortable with that.  Once this goes away I will switch and breathe to the right or do some 1,3,5 drills to get comfortable breathing on both sides.

One Response to Glub, glub… bleh..

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

