Stupid Stopwatch…

Distance: 6.2mi

Miles to go: 1264

A Kind of a Stopwatch

Image via Wikipedia

Don’t you hate those runs where you feel like you are flying but then you get to the end and realize you weren’t bookin’ along as fast as you thought?

I could have sworn I was a good minute ahead of my best time for the route we ran yesterday.  I was passing people I never pass.  Everything felt good.  I was pushing myself right to the edge of tired, but not over.  Then I got back to the start and was 8 seconds per mile slower than my PR for that route.  And I just don’t know where I lost it…  The only thing I can think of is that maybe the group was running a slower warmup than usual or they extended the warmup out farther than we did last time.

It’s no big deal, really.  I mean, I felt good and really enjoyed the run.  I just thought I was a bit faster, that’s all.  Yet another way running humbles you.  Unfortunately, the stopwatch doesn’t lie.  And this was not the kind of run that makes you doubt yourself.  I felt GOOD.  I was still running 7:56 miles.  Anything under 8min/mi is great for me.  But I think I had myself convinced that I was going to run a sub-49 10K and I was briefly disappointed when it didn’t happen.  Given the fact that at this time last year I couldn’t even run, I should be ashamed of myself.

In some fun news, a friend of ours has graciously agreed to keep an eye on the kids for a few hours on New Year’s Eve so that we can run a small, local race called “First Night”.  It is a 5K that afternoon (4pm start) to help kick off a downtown celebration on New Year’s Eve (and provide a preemptive strike on whatever holiday partying might bring).  It is usually cold but still well attended and should be fun!  It’s kind of the kick off of running races again for me and it will be the first time my wife and I have run the same race.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

