Listening to myself

Distance: 10.5 mi

Miles to go: 1270

One and a half thumbs up for my new tights.  They were warm and comfortable.  The only thing I don’t like is that one of the ankle zippers won’t stay zipped.  Gotta figure out something for that.  Otherwise I’m happy.  It was cold but I definitely could tell the difference and they wicked the moisture away well.  Gotta love a product that works as advertised.

I went out today determined to run “within my breathing”.  What I mean is, not to pay attention to splits, etc., but just run.  The way I guaged how I was doing was to listen to my own breathing.  In essence, if I could hear it, I was going too fast.  But if I could feel it I was just right.  I didn’t want to run fast, just comfortable.  And wouldn’t you know it, this worked!  I ran a very comfortable 8:30 pace and felt like I could have gone a bit farther at the end.  This week will be full of silly runs but our regular Thursday group run will be a Thanksgiving gift.  We will go out for 45 min and then come back but we start and end at a bakery that is supposed to have insanely good cinnamon rolls…!  Now THAT is a reward!  I already can’t wait.

Next Saturday we are talking about running the local half marathon route.  I am thinking about doing this run as a gift to myself for my birthday.  It will be the longest run I have done all year and I really think it would be great to do it as a positive finish to a rotten year.  Long range weather forecasts are predicting rain but I’m hoping I get lucky.  It would really be nice to know I can still run this far going into next year.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

