Bob Gump (quality vs. quantity miles)

Distance: 12mi

Miles to go: 1281

I’m not sure what possessed me to run hard last night (4 mi at Traknight) and then turn around and run 8 miles this morning, but I did it.  And as I struggled through the last two miles I realized that I was having a debate with myself.  You know, those random thoughts and arguments that almost seem detached from conscious thought?  I almost feel sometimes that I have wandered in on my own conversation, startled by what I am thinking about.

This particular debate seemed to be about quality miles vs. quantity miles.  I seemed to be upset with myself about running 8 miles today instead of my intended six.  I wasn’t pleased with myself for what I considered forced miles, just for the sake of running “more”.  The quantity side seemed to be arguing that since I was feeling pretty good, there was no reason NOT to do a couple of extra miles.  That I was managing my mileage well enough that a couple of extra was good for me.  The quality side was saying “SEE!  You’re pooped!  Your form is breaking and you are stumbling.  You are tired and fatigued and these aren’t “Good” miles.  You could hurt yourself.

And so it went…

The conscious me can see both sides.  I did feel great this morning and was running easy pretty much the entire time (yes, even the last two miles).  I averaged 8:07 miles for the run.  However, I did struggle at the end.  I’m not sure how much good those last two miles did me and I was fatigued.  I know this because I do stumble a bit when I’m tired.  My arms were tight against my chest and I didn’t have much leg drive at the end.  I’m tired now, which I shouldn’t be.

The quality vs. quantity debate has raged on for some time and will continue on.  I think there are times for both during the year.  In the spring when you are building back up your base, adding extra miles is the only way.  However I think this peaks around mid summer and should (speaking purely for myself) taper off toward fall.  In the fall and winter I trade quantity for quality.  I run shorter, focused miles where I am working on something.  Pace, consistency, form, intervals, speed, hills, etc. are all good uses for runs in the winter.

So why did I run the extra miles this morning?  I believe Mr. Forest Gump put it best… “I just felt like running”…!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

