First real winter run of the season.

Distance: 18mi (3 runs)

Miles to go: 1319

Rain Run

Image by januaryman via Flickr

Last Thursday pegged the suck-o-meter.  We were supposed to run 7 miles on a route called the “rain route” because… you guessed it… it was raining (or, actually, it had just stopped).  We took off and I was immediately sore due to running a bit too hard the night before at Traknight.  The stiffness was just wearing off when we ran through an area of the trail that was dark and full of puddles.  I was trying to avoid the puddles and ended up stepping on a rock on THE OTHER ANKLE… dammit…  So after a mile and a half I was done.  I just turned around and hobbled home.  Actually, after about 5 minutes I was fine and have had no lasting effects, it just ruined that particular run.  Ahh, well.  They can’t all be great runs.

Today I went to our usual 10 miler fully expecting to be the only one there.  The combination of a local 5K, some regional races, a home football game and a start time temperature of 31 degrees with a 20 mile an hour wind seemed to be a “perfect storm” of conditions to keep the group size down.  So, of course, we ended up with 11!  As for the run?  It was cold.  And it never got any warmer.  I swear I saw snow.  Or maybe I just got light headed and saw stars…  Anyway, 10 cold miles builds character…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

