A decision made for me.

Distance: 4mi

Miles to go: 1382

Wind…  Lotsandlotsandlots of wind…  I swear at one point I was running backwards.

Oklahoma state welcome sign

Image via Wikipedia

We are on the cusp of a pretty strong cold front moving out of the plains at us.  The rain held off (until tomorrow morning when it’s cold and I’m running in it… of course) and the temps were OK (I did get chilled a bit on the drive home), but the wind was brutal.  No biggie though.  Any run is a good one!

So I am reading about all the wonderful times had by those who went to the triathlon club championships and I am trying to decide what I should do, fitness wise, in the coming year when I flip to a summary by our fearless leader, Mark Livesay, and he mentions that next years championship will be held in conjunction with the Redman Triathlon, September 19, in Oklahoma…

For those who don’t know, I grew up in Oklahoma…

Looks like I found my direction for ’09!

It may not seem like much motivation.  It’s just a race in a place I used to live… So?  Well, I look at it this way…  My family is there so I will get to see them as well as do the race.  This makes it easier to justify the trip (read: expense) and my family will have something to do as well.  Since I can combine what I’m sure will be my new obsession with a family trip… maybe I can do it with less guilt?

Weak…  I know…

But still, to be able to go back home and do a club championship race and maybe have my extended family there would be really cool.  I really like the club and would love to help support them by actually DOING a triathlon or two.  And to do it in my own back yard would be special to me.

Now I just gotta find somebody to teach an old, fat guy how to swim…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

