Distance: 8mi

Miles to go: 1386

Marathoners, you know that tiny bit of a letdown you get when you are running a course where the half marathoners run with you to a point and then split off?  You are in a huge pack of people and then you come to that turn where you go right and they go left and suddenly you are alone?  It’s both depressing (I still have a long way to go…) and exciting (I still have a long way to go!) at the same time, for me anyway.

I was reminded of this, although not in such a brutal way, this morning.  I had settled in behind a pack of about 10 runners and was just cruching the miles and listening to them talk about this past weekend’s races, etc.  I knew most of them and had assumed I would be with them until the end.  Then we made a turn (ok… I made a turn) to follow on to the longest route.  I looked up and I was completely alone in the dark.  Startled, but undeterred, I vowed to follow up with them later to hear the rest of the story and trudged off into the last few miles alone.  I learned that, although I am getting faster,  I am still the slowest of the “A”, or longest, route runners.  This was emphasized by the fact that by the time I got back to the start of our run, the parking lot was EMPTY… heh!  All the honking I had heard on the way down the last hill wasn’t frustrated drivers, it was all the people who had already finished and were heading to coffee prompting me to hurry the hell up…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

