In search of a plan…

Distance: 4mi

Miles to go: 1394

So I got hit by this huge tide of inspiration as I reflected on this day when nearly 100% of the people I know that run in Columbia were doing battle with themselves, the elements, the miles, inner demons and the competition.  Locally, on Saturday we had a 5K that was won with a blistering 15:26 time.  Not one of our runners, but still, that’s lightning!  Also this weekend we had a trail run called Rock Bridge Revenge.  This sick and twisted little run brought out some of our best, once again with lightning fast times and strong support.  Then there was the Triathlon Club National Championships in Vegas.  Our local club, CMC, was defending back to back championships against the likes of the L.A. Tri Club and other HUGE clubs around the nation.  It took other clubs bringing in sandbaggers (pros) to bring CMC down but we still finished a strong second.  It seems the revenge plotting has already started for next year.  Maybe I can be a part of it?  And then finally, my friends running the Columbus Marathon were awesome.

Awash in all this motivation and ashamed of the fact that I wasn’t a part of any of it, I strapped my shoes on and went for a solace run.  As usual, the miles washed away the downer I was feeling and gave me time to think.  Since this was an off day (usually), I took it easy and just cruised down a favorite trail.

I have options.  I can run trails.  I can start multisport training (read: learn to swim).  I can jack the mileage back up and run another marathon. I can increase my speed work and set some short race goals (sub 21 5K, sub 45 10K, etc.).  I guess I just don’t know what direction to go.  I can’t (realistically) do all of it.  Mostly due to time and money constraints.  So I’m going to have to specialize.  I guess I just need to take the rest of the year and decide what to do.  It’s fun to be at this point.  Especially since my base is already around the half marathon distance I have something to work with.  But which way to go…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

