Hidden Gem- Springfield (MO) style

Distance: 7mi

Miles to go: 1399

National Recreation Trail LogoYesterday I ran the Galloway Creek Greenway in Springfield MO.  This is a well maintained, scenic blacktop trail that winds through the southside of Springfield.  It was easy to find, well marked (markers on the trail every 1/10 of a mile!) and I never felt like I was lost so it was a very comfortable run.  This is a US National Recreation Trail with spurs off to a dirt trail and connectors to many more miles of trail.  The part of the trail that I ran finishes at the Springfield Conservation Nature Center.  I think the next time I run this trail I will start from here and run around this area first.  I turned around just as I got to it and it really looked interesting.  This is a mostly suburban trail that goes in and out of forest, by a creek, and through neighborhoods.  You do have to cross a couple of streets but they are well marked so you don’t miss the trail on the other side of the street.  This is one of several good trails in Springfield.  I can’t wait to come back and run another one!

I picked up a new pair of running shoes on the way out of town.  My old ones died a horrible death and I don’t like running daily in my trail shoes.  I decided to try New Balance for a change and picked up a pair of 1061s.  It’s a comfortable shoe and I was able to slip into them and run 7 miles without too much discomfort.  The only problem I encountered was the fit in the toe.  Unfortunately, they are a bit narrower in the toe box than my feet are used to so they squeezed my toes together a bit.  This caused a nasty little blister between my big toe and it’s next door neighbor.  I’m hoping that as the shoes break in they will mold a bit to fit my feet better so this doesn’t become a continuing problem.  I guess I just didn’t expect a shoe known for being wider by default to have any problems with being too narrow!  Other than that they were comfortable and breathable.  No complaints.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

