Boring hill and a plan or two.

Distance: 7mi

Miles to go: 1417

One of our routes has been out of commission for the last 6 months as it has been converted from a dark, rocky, take your life in your own hands, single track trail to a 4 lane road with wide shiny sidewalks.  Although the hill that this trail/road is on was not diminished in any way, it is sad to say that some of the magic has left this run.  Now it’s just a boring hill.  In fact, that’s what I’m changing the name to.  It used to be called President’s hill because the trail came out right by the university president’s house.  But now it just comes out behind the basketball arena.  Meh… Boring…  Yup… Boring hill.  That’s it’s new name.

Anyway, the run yesterday morning was fun.  It was a new route that went out the main trail, up a medium tough hill and down the backside of it, then up Boring hill and down the side of it, then up a long medium grade hill, through a neighborhood and then down a really fast, steep hill.  I think the most important thing for me was that I felt good on the UPS as well as the downs.  I have been working on shortening my stride and increasing my cadence on the ups and I think it is working.  Running, for me, has been so fickle lately that having 3 good runs in a row is very exciting.  It’s also fun to have gas left in the tank to draw from for that last sprint.

As crazy as it sounds, even though the marathon was what finally broke me, I am going to try to do another one in the spring.  I am looking at the OKC Memorial Marathon because I have family down there I can stay with and it’s late enough in the spring (April 28) to give me time to train for it.

My base right now is about 12 miles at a 9 minute pace.  Considering I haven’t run anything longer than 13 miles in over a year now, I consider that to be pretty good.  I am much faster (about 7:30 pace) for shorter distances so I think my fitness, on a scale of 1 to 10, is about a 6.  It is low mostly because I need to lose weight.  The good news is that I don’t have to take as long to build that base as I did and I could potentially be running 15-18 miles in a month.  This all gives me time to really focus on losing weight.  I also need to spend some time this winter on core strength and stretching.

As much as I am chomping at the bit to run a race, I am going to try to force myself NOT to until the end of the year.  I may volunteer at a couple of them but I don’t want to RACE again until next year.  Not that I am competitive or anything, I just know that I will push myself and another 2 months of gentle pushing is what I need, not the crazy race day ideas I usually get.  So for my first official race, I have chosen our “First night” event, which happens on January 1, 2009.

…I said I would wait.  Just not one second more than I need to…!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

