Hah! NOW, I’m back.

Distance: 10 mi (2 runs)

Miles to go: 1434

The Backbone Trail, Santa Monica Mountains, Southern California.After a Traknight that went WAY better than I expected since I have missed the last two for work, I wasn’t really sure how I would feel this morning.  One of the guys I was talking with before we started and I continued our conversation as the warmup began and after about a mile I realized that I was feeling really good and I was still with the lead pack!  Of course, that didn’t last as they spread out and sped up, but I could still see the leaders after 4 miles so that was really cool!  The end result was a 6. 3 mile run with an average pace of 7:52.  That is the farthest I have gone under 8 minutes since about this time last year!

So it’s official, a stress fracture of the pelvis takes about a year to fully recover from.  This is, of course, a completely non medical conclusion and is merely based on the fact that I am at pre injury distances and speeds without pain.  Now I just need to lose that 10 pounds I re-gained during the recovery 😦

I’m into my third year of running again and can definitely say that I am developing preferences.  I don’t like Dry Max shirts (they make me itch), LURVES my Asics shoes and my favorite running running weather is when the temps are between 40 and 50 (as long as it’s not frickin’ RAINING!!).  My favorite distances to train at are 7-15 miles and my favorite race is the half marathon.

So to make sure I don’t fall into a rut I’m going to start trail running (that is what this morning’s discussion was about), work on my 5k goal of beating 22 minutes and am looking at doing both a duathlon and a marathon (OKC or our own HOA… not sure which) next year (maybe a triathlon if I can find someplace to swim).

See?  Told you I was back!

BTW… Thanks to Wikipedia for the picture.  It is of the Backbone trail in the Santa Monica Mountains in California.  I ran or rode that trail a bazillion times and know exactly where this is.  This is your reward view for a BRUTAL 4 mile climb.  It’s worth it!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

