A different kind of marathon

Distance: 4mi

Miles to go 1441

black and white ozarks lakeImage by dgphilli via FlickrMy cross country adventure continues this week as I am now at the Lake of the Ozarks in south central Missouri.  An enormous lake that has a big reputation for fast boats and big parties.  Neither of which bring me here.  I am presenting this week at a conference.  Nowhere NEAR that exciting.  However, the resort I am staying at boasts a 5K course that is just pure evil.  A person shouldn’t have to run THAT many hills (steep ones) in THAT short a distance.  It’s just not fair…

So, like the hill junky I am, I ran the 5K course today and then, for good measure, I added on another mile and one more nasty hill, just to prove how stupid I really am.  Now see, these hills aren’t your garden variety, “tough” hills.  No… Let’s call them “knee killers”.  Imagine taking a hammer to your own knees for 4 miles.  Sounds lovely, no?

…no.

I took it easy on this very tough run today.  I’m sure if I had remembered to wear my watch I would have been depressed as hell with the time.  Maybe it was a good thing I forgot it…!  Still, the reward for this run was beautiful views of the early fall foliage and some great lake views.  All on a nice fall morning.  Nice…

I don’t know if I will be able to get another run in before I get back home so I hope that was good enough.  After this week I will be back at home for a while, thank goodness.  I’m not sure my kids remember who I am!  I miss my family.  I think my marathon this year is just simply surviving these two weeks!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

