What a mess…

Since the rains were torrential yesterday morning with the combination of a dying pacific tropical system, big storm front AND the remains of Hurricane Ike, I decided not to do my long (10 miles) run and just take it easy.  Light weeks and recovery time are still my best friends at this point and I have also decided not to run an organized race until next year.  I know, I know… I said I was going to run a race on Saturday, but I’ve just lost the mojo for races right now.  I just like to run with my friends and not have to deal with the “training” end of things.  Maybe I’ll get ambitious and tackle a duathlon or a spring marathon.  But, for now,  I just need to keep the habit going and continue to get better.  I might even start lifting again next week.  Who knows.

Anyway, I wouldn’t have gotten very far on ANY run yesterday.  We got 7 inches of rain in the last 2 days and 4.25 of that was yesterday evening through this morning.  There isn’t a trail in town that is above water right now.  Unfortunately, it may be quite some time before some of them are passable again.  At one point last night, if there had been an emergency at the house, the only way in would have been helicopter.  And we are over 800 miles from where Ike made landfall.  It just happened that these three weather events all converged here on central Missouri.  We had a dozen structures destroyed by flooding and 2 people are missing due to the floods.  What a mess.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

