The marathon ho-hums

Distance: 7mi

Miles to go: 1536

OK…  I’m pooped.  Three good solid runs this week left me pretty tired for this morning’s run.  It was a new route for me, which took some of the sting out of it because I had to pay more attention to where I was going.  But I could definitely feel that “leg weary” tiredness.  I guess in some ways it’s a good thing because it was really the only feeling I had.  No other pain or woe.  And I still ran 8:37s so it wasn’t all bad.

I also picked up something very important this morning after the run.  A registration form for a 5K.  This will be my first “race” this year…  I’m so excited!!!  And worried I won’t be anywhere near a time I will be satisfied with.  But I don’t care.  I can’t wait to run with a number pinned on me again!

I had to giggle at my running buddies this morning.  I heard them whining about being tired and eating all the time and long runs and no sleep and and and…  I was there…  I remember that feeling.  The last 6 weeks before your marathon…  The douldrums…  When it seems like you are always running or eating or washing your running clothes.  And you begin to wonder what the hell you are doing…  I gotta tell ya… Of all the things I miss about marathon training, that ain’t one of them.  I hated that feeling.  It was almost depressing.  I recovered my composure and tried to get them fired up by reminding them how far they had come and that they were all going for a BQ and this was the hard work that would make the actual marathon easy.  I don’t know if it worked, but at least they perked up a bit.

Our local marathon is Monday.  It is called the Heart of America marathon and has been going on now for 49 years.  It’s a small, community supported run but it is one of the toughest, non-mountain marathons in the nation.  And most of the hills are in the last half when it is hot and you are already miserable anyway.  Still, a lot of the 250 or so intrepid souls who show up for this event are from out of state and it has a reputation for a marathon that will really challenge you.  I volunteered last year but I think I’m going to just stay out of this year altogether, mostly because I don’t want to get any stupid ideas.  I’m just now feeling good again after breaking myself running my last marathon.  But if things go well for me with running over the next year, this may just be my next marathon…  hmm…

One Response to The marathon ho-hums

  1. Matt says:

    Dew points over 70 degrees F on Labor Day — as if the HofA marathon isn’t hard enough even in good weather … sheesh.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

