OK… You can go…

Distance: 6mi

Miles to go: 1547

Don’t you wish that when something good happened in your running life you could always point to “the” thing that caused it?  If for no other reason than to have the satisfaction of knowing why for yourself?

Last Thursday, something happened.  I finished a run that was longer than I probably should have been running, in dismal conditions.  I was tired to the point of feeling drugged and groggy.  It hurt to go up or down stairs.  The only way I could stand up out of my chair was to grunt like my grandpa used to.  In general, more of the same that I have been feeling for the last 8 months.

Then, on Saturday, something changed.  I ran 10 miles with no pain or fatigue.  I wasn’t tired or sore afterwards.  I had energy.  And I ran at an accelerated pace for the distance (about a minute per mile faster than usual).  I wrote it off as anomalous.  Just a happy blip on an otherwise rotten year.  I rested on Sunday and then rode my bike to work on Monday.  Again, with the feeling good thing…  My wife had a busy afternoon and couldn’t meet me halfway home so I had to ride home.  AGAIN… with the feeling good thing…!  I was pooped last night but not that miserable exhaustion I have been feeling.

So this morning I was SURE I would be back to the rotten thing again.  Surely the 25 miles of hilly biking yesterday had done me in… right?  How about a PR on this course by over a minute and a half…?

What the hell is wrong with me?  I’m feeling all… good… and stuff…  That’s just… eww…

I’m so used to just feeling bad after my runs that I’ve kind of gotten used to it.  But, heck… Now I feel like I could go out and run another 5 or 6 miles (I’m not going to… of course… but still).

I’m not complaining.  That would be stupid.  “Never sniff a gift fish” and all that…  But I have been racking my feeble little brain looking for a reason.  My diet hasn’t changed.  My sleep patterns may be MARGINALLY better.  I’m getting to sleep earlier but I’m also waking up earlier so I’m not sure if that’s an improvement or not.  I’m just not sure.  It would just be nice to say that because I did (X) I got better.

Now, granted, my next run or even my next step could lead me right back down the misery trail.  But I don’t think so.  Something IS different this time.  It’s like somebody flipped a switch and said… OK… You can go.  And that’s exactly what I plan on doing…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

