I never know until I run, so… I’ll just run.

Distance: 10mi

Miles to go: 1553

I had ABSOLUTELY NO intention of running 10 miles today.  I had pretty much convinced myself that I was only going to run 6 or so.  After feeling so bad Thursday after running 7 miles, I thought for sure that I would feel rotten today.  But, as always, that’s why we run.

Two weeks ago I watched two of the ladies that I run with take off into the distance as I labored along and struggled to maintain a 9:30 pace.  Today, I ran with one of them for the entire distance and finished (albeit very tired) at an 8:33 pace.  I felt fantastic up until about mile nine when I started to cramp up a bit.  But I was able to struggle my way in anyway.  I think I just ran out of water.  We went over to a local coffee shop after we finished and I promptly drained the water supply in Columbia by about half before I got my first cup of coffee and, wouldn’t you know, I felt better.

I think this reinforces for me the fact that no matter how I “think” I feel, I just need to go run.  I think I’ve been pre-judging my runs a lot lately based on how I feel when I’m heading to the trailhead.  I just need to relax and run.  I seem to have lost my ability to guage my body so I’m just not going to pay attention to it (within reason, of course).

One Response to I never know until I run, so… I’ll just run.

  1. Sheila says:

    I “accidentally” ran six miles Saturday. It was a new trail, not marked really well and I had gone three miles before I saw a sign. Had to come back. It was a miracle I think.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

