Of olympians and special people…

Distance: 7mi

Miles to go: 1563

Seven miles in the POURING rain this morning…  What the hell am I thinking?  I’m not TRAINING for anything.  That was totally unnecessary… But MAN it was fun!  It’s obvious to me now that I am sick…  As a running buddy put it, I need to go to RunAnon…

The group I run with, the Columbia Multisport Club, is about as great a group as you will find anywhere, in any sport.  Besides being filled with great athletes, they are good people.  They are kind and considerate and thoughtful, all qualities that I find attractive but that are all to unfortunately rare today.  For example, last week (a run I missed,  sorry Gwenna, we’ll miss you!) they held a special run in honor of one of our members who is moving out of state.  This week (today… in the rain) over 40 of us showed up for a special run.  Christian Cantwell is a US Olympic Shot Putter who won the silver medal in China last week.  He is from Eldon, went to MU and is an assistant coach there now.  To show support for him and let him know we are proud of him, some friends of his at a local eatery bought a big roll of silver ribbon and are asking everyone to sign it.  Our run today, in the pouring rain, was to that diner so that we could all sign the ribbon for him.  I just think that kind of stuff is cool.  Will it mean anything to Christian Cantwell?  I hope so.  We are proud of him.  He is just another example of the fantastic athletes here in Columbia.  Oh, and, Christian?  Sorry we got your ribbon soggy.  It was kinda raining buckets when we got there…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

