I should have thanked her

Distance: 4mi

Miles to go: 1579

Had a long week of travel at work so I took off early this afternoon and went to a favorite short run of mine to give it a go.  I started under threat of a shower that never really manifested itself but did manage to blow a cool wind my way, which, under cover of the trees, was very pleasant.

I took off at a comfortable pace, expecting my ankle (something to do with my achilles) to hurt and the usual grumps to come back but, to my surprise, my various body parts seemed happy with the conditions.  About 1/3 mile into the run I was passed by a younger (20ish?) girl who seemed to be cruising.  I looked inside myself at this point and realized that I was too.

I wasn’t pushing myself.

I wasn’t breathing hard.

In short, I was kinda phoning it in.

In an instant, I picked up the pace.  Dammit, I know my limits and I know when I am pushing it.  The only way for me to get better/stronger/faster (think $6 million dollar man) is to test my limits.  I picked up the pace to see if I could catch her.  She was running about an 8:30 pace and I locked in on her heels after about a mile and stuck with her.  It wasn’t about male vs. female or old vs. young, it was about effort vs. reward.  I could feel my breathing getting heavy, but not labored.  THIS was the right pace.  She seemed irritated and picked up the pace.  I wasn’t trying to piss her off and I really didn’t care if it was a girl, guy, bicycle, dog or shadow that I was running with.  What I was chasing was inside.

After about another half mile I could hear her breathing getting labored as she struggled to maintain her pace.  I’m sure she didn’t want to get passed by an old, fat guy.  I totally understand.  But I was tuned in at this point and didn’t care.  I went around her and continued on.  I got to my turn and headed back, surprised by my own splits (8:02).  I looked up to see her walking, obviously winded, up the trail at me.  We smiled weakly at each other as I passed.

Again, this WASN’T about “her”.  It was about “me” and the realization that, whether it was because I was afraid to hurt myself or I had just gotten lazy/out of shape, I was only putting in minimal effort on my runs.  I can’t really fault myself since running has been such a painful endeavor for the last 6 months, but I don’t want to fall into that habit.  I’m going to mix it up a bit.  Trail runs, group runs, track runs, etc.  I think it might be time for me to start running “different” for a while.  I need to mix it up and do different types of runs.

But…

No matter what type of run I choose, I need to start challenging myself again.  It’s obvious to me over the last week that I have more in me than I have been giving.  It’s time…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

