Jekyll and Hyde

Distance: 6.2 mi

Miles to go: 1596

Yet another entry in the Runner’s Lounge Take It And Run Thursday

I can’t think of a better metaphor for my year in running than the title suggests.  The first half of my year was filled with the nefarious Mr. Hyde.  For the first 5 months of this year, any time I even had a positive thought about running, he would jump from the shadows and beat me down.  Indeed, we even experienced a damp, soggy, Londonesque spring in which even if I had felt good, I couldn’t have run anyway.  I actually wondered at one point if my running career would end up as the book did, with Jekyll (me) slowly succumbing to the fact that he would soon turn into Mr. Hyde for good (the lazy, whining, couch potato I used to be).

But luckily for me, so far anyway, the second half of the year has me re-writing the ending (apologies to Stephenson) of this book with Dr. Jekyll finding the missing ingredient and making more of the potion that keeps him from turning into Mr. Hyde.  And what was that ingredient?

Patience.

I’m not going to paint a Pollyanna picture of the next six months.  I know I still have a long way to go.  Even today I am tired, sore and wondering if I’m going to be able to handle that 10 miler on Saturday.  Right now… I don’t wanna…  But I will say that the clouds have broken a bit for me in the last month.  I am setting goals again, getting a little faster each week, and starting to look for races to run in again.  Something I couldn’t even conceive of 3 months ago.

Right now, my biggest goal is simply just to run.  And keep running… pain free.  It would be nice to get another 500 miles in between now and the end of the year, but I’ll take what I can get as long as it’s under my own power.  If I can do that all the way to the end of the year then I will say I had a great second half.

2 Responses to Jekyll and Hyde

  1. Sheila says:

    Hey! You are doing great! Why, cause you are still running, you have heart and it shows. I have 438.66 miles this year thanks to your inspiration.

    Check out this its a half-marathon in Conway in October. http://www.soaringwingshalf.com/

  2. Denise says:

    I love your writing!
    I think its more than patients that is necessary though, patients implies passivity and it seems to me that keeping on running is a very active thing….

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

