Pleasure and Pain

Distance: 3.5 mi (Traknight)

Miles to go: 1602

How sadistic do we runners have to be to enjoy the pain of a hard workout…? I don’t mean, like a “turn on” enjoy, but it does feel good to push yourself to your limits and then just a teeny bit further. The “pain” for me tonight was 1 X 1200, 3 X 400, 3 X 300 and then a nasty little 4 man mile relay in which, because of the offset (you have to think about this a bit) you end up running 2 X 100 and 1 X 200 in an effort to try to beat the 4 minute mile. This all came at the END of a workout in which I pushed all my times down by 5 seconds. Damn near killed me… Yep… Light headed… Queasy… Delirious… The whole shebang… It was beautiful. The pleasure?  Although I was all of the above… I didn’t hurt… heh! The only things that “hurt” were the things that are SUPPOSED to hurt when you run hard. You know… lungs… legs… pride… ego…

It also helped that the remnants of hurricane Dolly finally moseyed out of town (ANOTHER 3.5 inches of rain… that’s over 10 inches of rain in 11 days). I think I saw a big boat with pairs of animals in it… I think it was captained by some old guy in a robe…

weird…

The bad news is the flooding has destroyed portions of our beloved MKT trail. The good news, for today, was that when we ran it was only 73 degrees because the cloud cover and rain kept the temps down. Punishment comes this weekend when the temperatures are predicted in the mid to upper 90’s… But today wasn’t bad for a July 30th in middle America. I guess the other good news is that we are looking at a week of rain free days. That hasn’t happened since, like, last November… Last year at this time we were begging for rain. Now it seems we squint and cower when confronted with that big, bright, thingy that comes out once a week or so and makes everything steamy. I think it’s a star of some sort… Legend says it makes things grow. I guess they’re talking about mold and moss and stuff…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

