There’s a flash flood warning in my shoes…

Distance: 6.2 mi

Miles to go: 1606

I think I can now say with some confidence that I will at least get 500 miles in this year.  My guess is that with the pace I am currently on (30 Mi/wk) I should just break the 1000 mile mark for the year.  Given the fact that I was off for the first 5 months of the year, I guess that’s not bad.  I’m pretty sure that I will be increasing my mileage as I feel better and better (I already have, a little) so the potential to get to, say 1200 miles this year does exist.  So why am I leaving the miles to go at the 2000 benchmark?  I don’t know… Lazy?  Still a bit frustrated…?  Actually, I just want to keep track.  That way, at the end of the year, I will know how much I missed by.  And depending on how I feel… Maybe I will add it to next year…

Columbia has already had more rain this year than we had all of last year.  When it rains, it comes in buckets.  The last two storms have dumped 2.25 and an incredible 4.5 inches respectively.  Six inches of rain in 8 days.  This has done two things.  First, the trails are starting to flood.  Something NEVER seen around here.  Second, even when it doesn’t rain, the humidity is in the high 90s.  This, coupled with morning temperatures in the low 70s means that even when it’s not raining, I’m still drenched.  If the water I wring out of my shirt at the end of each run equated to weight loss, I would weight about 17 pounds right now.

I can’t stop in one spot for too long after I’m done running or I start to rain on my own shoes.  Pretty disgusting.  But, that’s all part and parcel of living in the midwest.  The gorgeous spring and fall seasons come at a price, it’s called summer.  I can’t complain.  I don’t think I will ever get completely used to the heat and humidity combo (and remember, I grew up in Oklahoma, which is hotter), but it won’t last long and I’ll be diving in the back of the closet for the jackets again.  Until then, I sweat… and wish it was melting fat instead of water I was losing…

One Response to There’s a flash flood warning in my shoes…

  1. Bob Allen says:

    Sounds to me like you’re running in Richmond, VA. Even this morning after only 4.5 miles, I wrung out my shirt twice and sweat was still pouring, not dripping, off of me. I even wrung out my socks. My shoes, if they don’t rot first, will probably be dry sometime in October. OK, yes, you caught me in a bit of hyperbole with the shoes — but they really were soaking wet.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

