Into (literally) and out of (figuratively) the fog…

Distance: 8.75mi

Miles to go: 1612

OK… There’s muggy… and then there was this…  How does 72 degrees and dense fog sound…  It was beautiful though.  Tropical… but beautiful.  All the rivers around here are at max capacity (we got 6 inches of rain in just under 72 hours this week) so those little babbling brooks I’m used to running by are now class 4 rapids and are the color of a nice chai latte…  eeeewwwww.

I was bound and determined to just cruise today.  I ran 10 last week and it hurt.  All I wanted to do was take a nap.  Today there were two pace groups, one at about 8 and one at about 9:30.  I chose wisely and went with the 9:30 group.  They were all running long today, between 15 and 20 miles so they were slow, which worked great for me.  As we rolled up to the turn where they went left for another 10 miles or so, I turned right (secretly not feeling bad at all for not running the extra mileage…!) and headed back up the trail to town and my finish line.  When I got there… a funny thing happened.

I didn’t hurt.

At all.

Anywhere.

So I waited.  And I sat down (expecting to seize up like a rusty motor).

Still… Nothing.

So in another one of those “well… duh!” runners moments, I experienced infinite wisdom… “Hmmm… run easy, feel good… Run hard… hurt…”  “OHHHH… I get it!!!”  And, amazingly, I still have energy and am ready to tackle the next kitchen project, undercounter lighting!  …I’m such a moron… Somebody should take my running shoes away from me before I hurt myself…

No.  I’m not going to go back to 5-6 days a week running.  No.  I’m not going to run a marathon any time soon.  No.  I don’t plan on beating 21 minutes for the 5K this year.

However…

Yes.  Those things will come.  Yes, I think I have finally turned the corner.  Yes, I’m ready for my “Well, that was stupid” bead and shall repent my “pushed too hard, too fast after an injury” sin to all my running brethren…

Yes… I feel OK again… And this time, it’s for real.

2 Responses to Into (literally) and out of (figuratively) the fog…

  1. Bob Allen says:

    Glad you’re back to no pain. I hope it continues that way.

  2. Cheryl says:

    YEAH!!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

