Just a thought

I, personally, have never believed in supplements, choosing instead to achieve balance in my diet by eating the right things.  I experimented with supplements in the past had results that ranged from nill to negative, so I just dumped the whole idea.

There is one supplement, however, that I must admit I have had much success with.  I had stopped taking Glucosamine for the joint pain I know is associated with arthritis.  Another unfortunate side effect of getting old…  But this most recent round of pain and woe had me searching for SOMETHING to supplement the mounds of Advil and Tylenol I was taking to dull the pain.  In desperation, I remembered Glucosamine and the bottle I used to have had in the cabinet.  After a frantic search, I realized it was gone so I whined about it to my darling, wonderful wife who, the very next morning, presented me with a 60 day supply.  She is wonderful.

I have only been taking it for 4 days and I have noticed a SIGNIFICANT improvement.  I no longer have pain going up and down stairs, my ankles feel better and don’t rattle as much when I walk.  Even my back feels better.  I just don’t think this is a coincidence.  Maybe it’s psychological, but I don’t think that is the case either.  For me, anyway, this stuff just works.

I know that the “studies” published about Glucosamine have met with mixed results.  The most favorable of them suggests that Glucosamine may work in some cases, but only for those with severe pain to begin with.  Perhaps that is me and I just didn’t know it.  In any case, I don’t hurt today for the first time in months…  It may not be because of the Glucosamine.  My body may just finally be getting back into shape.  But I don’t think so…

One Response to Just a thought

  1. Nat says:

    You know I swear by cold fish oil. Seems to me I just move better and every body part is more cooperative when I take it. But you know I just may give glucosamine a try.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

