The medal of stupid

Distance: 10 mi

Miles to go: 1630

If they gave medals for stupidity, I would have a chest full of them.  Actually, our illustrious beadmaster has a special bead he awards to runners who choose the path of least common sense.  He calls it the “WELL… that was stupid” bead.  It is awarded to runners who,  instead of choosing to “live to fight another day” when faced with an injury or other adversity (say… running during a TORNADO WARNING… yes, it has been documented… and, no, not by me…) choose to stay the course… almost always with negative consequences.  They are only awarded the bead when they admit their stupidity openly and repent (or, at least suffer the good natured abuse of the group).

I did a quick count of the number of beads I should have and, in the 2 years I have been running, I can already count 12 incidents in which a rational person would have chosen a completely different path.  Things like darting out in traffic like a maniacal squirrel in an effort to beat a light, or running 20 miles in 90 degree heat/humidity, or eating bad chinese food the night before a big race… You get the point.

Some of these idiotic choices have immediate consequences (you get hit by a car).  Others don’t show themselves fully for quite some time (bad chinese food).  And some… well… you’re just not sure.

What the hell is he talking about….

In my saga of one injury after another, I have become fed up.  I don’t care if I hurt.  I don’t care if I’m slow.  I don’t care…  I just wanna run so that I feel like I am actually DOING something for myself.  Since my pelvis is finally, truly and honestly feeling better, I can confidently start to build a plan to get me back to a decent fitness level.  And damn the torpedos… I’m gonna do it.

So when my left achilles gave me a twinge at the end of last week, I ignored it.  When it began to burn and feel tight during my runs, I ignored it.  And finally, when it seemed that it was going to hurt all the time and I really needed to take it easy on it, I ignored it.  Why?  Because I’m tired of excuses and I was really thinking that this was psychological.

That being said, of course I got up this morning and ran 10 miles (for only the second time in 6 months) even though that achilles burned the whole time.  Why?  Because I’m stupid…  After an hour on ice and 4 extra strength Tylenol I can at least walk on it again but I’m very glad that I’m not running again until Tuesday morning.  Hey… at least it will give me time to polish up my medal…

…and how ironic that my pelvis doesn’t hurt AT ALL…  hmm…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

