Belching Fritos

Distance: 3.5 mi (yesterday), 6.6 mi

Miles to go: 1640

OK dammit… So I was driving home yesterday at a dead sprint.  Yes, I may indeed have been breaking the speed limit.  But I had to do an inservice in a town about 2 hours away from Columbia and I got out at about 3:30.  Traknight started at 5:30…  I knew I hadn’t eaten enough during the day and I would be starving and out of energy at the run so I stopped in to get some caffeine and a snack to hold me over.  Of all the gawdawful things I could have gotten, for some unexplained reason my body said… Fritos Scoops…

…I have no idea…

I got back in the car, cracked open the Mountain Dew and ripped the bag open.  The smell was wonderful… and then immediately nauseating.  Still I couldn’t help myself so I grabbed one and popped it in my mouth.  Deliciously greasy, yet salty and crunchy at the same time.  Then my body said “eat another one of those and I will hit the reverse button…

…got it… no more Scoops…

I then spent the rest of the drive home AND the entire boiling hot run belching that one Frito’s Scoop…

…am I just old?  What happened to the iron stomach of my youth?  Am I doomed to spend the rest of my life eating Wonder Bread (plain… from the middle out… of course) and Geritol shakes?

I absolutely can not eat ANYTHING within 2 hours of a run without consequences ranging from uncomfortable to OHMYGAWDIGOTTAFINDABATHROOMNOW!!  This is ridiculous.

Not that you really care about my tummy troubles… but it IS my blog…

The run this morning was a tempo run (unencumbered by GI concerns) and for the first time in 6 months… I ran it AS a tempo run.  How weird is that.  I almost forgot how…  I actually managed to get miles 4 and 5 were 7:50 pace!  Then, of course, I stepped on a walnut and twisted my ankle.  Not serious, just enough to piss me off.

Now?  I am officially DEAD tired.  Exhausted… pooped…

But still, sticking two 7:50s back to back in the middle of a 6 mile run?  …priceless. Especially given all my bitching lately about being inconsistent.

One Response to Belching Fritos

  1. Cheryl says:

    I know what you mean with the stomach thing, before my long runs I know I should eat something, but I’m always afraid it will mess with my stomach, I have to know where the bathrooms are, just in case.

    Great job on your tempo run, that’s a great pace!! Keep it up, I’m consistent, consistently slow!!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

