Mr. (in)consistency

Distance: 6.66 mi

Miles to go: 1650

It seems I wake up every morning not knowing how I am going to feel.  I hit the trail with apprehension at a time when I feel I should be reaching cautious optimism.  My running friends are well into their marathon training so they are fast, fit and impatient with my progress, so I usually end up running alone.  It just seems like one thing after another and I keep saying “Once I get over (insert plague, broken bone, etc) I will be able to get back into it… but I’m really getting tired of those “inserts”.

Once again, this morning, I was teased by the old me.  On a course with a hilly middle and a big downhill at the end I slowly increased my speed all the way through the run from a starting mile of 8:55 to a last mile of 7:50 (yes… on the downhill part…) with an overall average of 8:34.

I guess my first goals in my re-re-recovery should really be consistency of effort and improved base fitness.  If I can just run like I did this morning for a few more weeks, I think my fitness level will start to improve and I can begin to stretch out my mileage again.  Right now, running anything over 8 miles seems to do more harm than good.  But the greater issue seems to be consistency for me.  I haven’t run the same time twice in 6 months and I seem to have lost my internal sense of pace.  Over the last week I have run 4 times and have run 10:17, 9:10, 9:55 and now 8:34.  Nearly a two minute swing in the span of a weeks worth of runs.  It’s hard to know which me will show up for the run.

I guess all I can do is just keep running and hope that it will work itself out.  For now, 4 days a week is plenty, given that I am riding my bike 2-3 days a week to work as well.  I know this will all work itself out soon, but I’m not happy unless I’m bitching about something, so I guess I’m happy…!  And on a completely self centered and absolutely unrelated note… I want a Vespa…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

