Captain Whineypants- Part II

Distance: 5 miles

Miles to go: 1670

Ran this morning with a group that is training for the Columbus Marathon.  After a week of planes, mass transit, bad food airplane flu and a grand total of 9.5 miles in the bag, it was damn depressing to hear about the 50-70 mile weeks they were putting in and thinking I was doing the same thing this time last year and really wanted to be there again.

As for my run, I felt terrible…  I alternated between wheezing and wanting to pass out.  I fought the evil “just walk” demons for the last 3 miles of the run.  I was pretty disheartened.  I’m sure it’s just because I’m still recovering from airplane flu but that sucked.

I guess the only good thing to come out of this is my attitude towards all of this.  I have been here before, mentally, and am very aware of my precarious position.  I am at a point where, with very little effort I could slip back into my old ways and stop running altogether.  The pain, frustration and depression of my current state being make for easy invitations to just quit.  I have done so many times in the past.  However, this time is different.  Even though I am physically shaken and emotionally weak, my mental state is different.  I know now that this is just a part of it all.  The down to go with last year’s terrific ups.  All I can do is run… as much as I can… whenever I can.  And the rest will work itself out.  I may never get back up to marathon mileage again… but I don’t care.  As long as I’m running, I really don’t care.   I think the bike commutes will help as well and I’m also hoping to join the local mega-gym soon which will allow me to start swimming as well.  No, not for triathlons, at least not in the short term.  For now it’s just another option and I think that’s what I need right now.  But I absolutely know it won’t be quitting.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

