Anniversary run

No run today but I did manage to get 60 miles in on the bike this week. This is my first +50 mile week and it felt pretty good… Especially after I raised my seat up a half inch so my knees would stop hurting… Ahh.. the things you forget about a sport when you lay off of it for a while. My commute is about 12 miles and then I usually add an extra 4 or 5 in the afternoon to ride over to where my family meets me and picks me and the bike up and takes me home. It’s not that I don’t want to ride home, it’s just that at around 4 or 5 o’clock, Columbia shows it’s “urban” side and traffic is horrible. Not a time to be riding through the heart of it, which is my only way home. The mornings aren’t so bad because before 7 there isn’t much traffic, which makes the ride really nice. I am still very slow, averaging about 14 mph on what is admittedly a pretty hilly route, but the point is not speed, but rather commuting and maintaining fitness. I’m sure eventually I will start to do some organized or group rides, but right now I just want to get used to commuting to work.

On a running note, I am looking forward to my next two runs. The first one, tomorrow morning, will be with my darling wife. For the first time (ever?) we will be going for a run together. This is our anniversary (16 years!!) weekend and of all the things we could do, we decided that, since she has started running recently, it would be great if we could just hit the trail for a few miles together and then grab some lunch. It’s going to be wonderful. I hope it’s the first of many.

The next run I take will be on Monday morning and it will be on the River Walk in San Antonio… How cool is that? I am going to a conference down there and our hotel is right on the River Walk, which is a very cool place by the way, and the concierge at the hotel says it’s a fun run so I’m going to give it a shot. If it works I may even get up and do it again the next day (and the next day!). If it goes well (or not) I will blog about it. I do know it’s going to be hot down there so if I’m going to run anywhere but on a treadmill, I’m going to have to do it EARLY. And I will probably need to run every day just to work off all the awesome food (ahh… TexMex…) and Shiner Bock…!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

