Up to 10 again… finally

Distance: 10 mi

Miles to go: 1748

I had several people ask me if I was going to run long on Saturday and finally they shamed me into it.  I wasn’t sure how I would feel after crawling around on my knees all day yesterday installing hardwood floors, but after a creaky first mile, I loosened up and ended up averaging just under 9 minute miles with gas to spare at the end.

This group is a bit looser than the Tue/Thur run group and is basically just a meeting spot and then everybody kinda does their thing and then meets for coffee and dangerously yummy pastries to blow all that good work you just did afterwards!  Some people go early, run, then run with us, then run some more, etc. so you can see it’s organized disorganization.  All of which makes for a mix of pack running and running alone in the same run.

I’m just glad to be back up to 10 miles again.  That distance, for me, was always a psychological barrier.  Once I broke through it, my mileage shot up because I had gotten past the magical 10 mile mark.  I immediately calculated my projected half marathon time based on this run (see what I mean?) and I think that if I work hard at it this summer I can definitely get down below 1:50 for the half, so now I have a goal.

…and I didn’t hurt…

…it’s good to be back!!

2 Responses to Up to 10 again… finally

  1. Bob Allen says:

    Congrats, Bob, on breaking back into the double-digit club. The 10-mile mark was certainly a psychological barrier for me.

  2. Amy says:

    Congrats on getting back to 10! I can remember when you were just trying to get back to 1-2 miles comfortably.

    10 mile is the magic marker for me. After that, all the miles (ok, up to about 20) feel the same. Hard. :}

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

